Indian Supreme Court got third woman judge after R Bhanumathi and Indu Malhotra

Collegium Recommendation


Re: Filling up vacancies of Judges in the Supreme Court.

Against the sanctioned strength of 31 Judges, the Supreme Court of India is presently functioning with 22 Judges, leaving 09 clear vacancies.

After extensive discussion and deliberations, the Collegium unanimously resolves to fill up, for the present, three of these vacancies. One of these vacancies is going to be filled up in terms of our recommendation for elevation of Mr. Justice K.M. Joseph, which has separately been reiterated by us today.

The Collegium discussed names of Chief Justices and senior puisne High Court Judges eligible for appointment as Judges of the Supreme Court.

The Collegium considers that at present the following persons are more deserving and suitable in all respects than other Chief Justices and senior puisne Judges of High Courts for being appointed as Judges of the Supreme Court of India:

  1. Ms. Justice Indira Banerjee, Chief Justice, Madras High Court (PHC: Calcutta)
    2. Mr. Justice Vineet Saran, Chief Justice, Orissa High Court (PHC: Allahabad)

While recommending the name of Ms. Justice Indira Banerjee and Mr. Justice Vineet Saran, the Collegium has taken into consideration combined seniority on all-India basis of Chief Justices and senior puisne Judges of High Courts, apart from their merit and integrity.

We, therefore, recommend that Ms. Justice Indira Banerjee and Mr. Justice Vineet Saran, be appointed as Judges in the Supreme Court of India.

Ms. Justice Indira Banerjee was appointed as a Judge of the Calcutta High Court on 5 th February, 2002 and was transferred to Delhi High Court on 8th August, 2016. She was elevated as Chief Justice of Madras High Court on 5 th April, 2017 and has been functioning there since then. She stands at Sl. No.4 in the combined seniority of High
Court Judges on all-India basis.

Mr. Justice Vineet Saran was appointed as a Judge of the Allahabad High Court on 14th February, 2002 and was transferred to Karnataka High Court on 16th February, 2015. He was elevated as Chief Justice of Orissa High Court on 26th February, 2016 and has been
functioning there since then. He stands at Sl. No.5 in the combined seniority of High Court Judges on all-India basis.

In view of the foregoing, the Collegium resolves to recommend that appointments be made in the following order:

  1. Ms. Justice Indira Banerjee, and
  2. Mr. Justice Vineet Saran.

( Dipak Misra ), C.J.I.
( Ranjan Gogoi ), J.
( Madan B. Lokur ), J.
( Kurian Joseph ), J.
( A.K. Sikri ), J.

New Delhi,
July 16, 2018.