Government of India – 1950

Government of india

1st February to 13th March, 1950

Cabinet ministers

  1. Prime Minister and Minister of External Affairs— The Honourable Shri Jawaharlal Nehru.
  2. Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Home Affairs and the States— Honourable Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel.
  3. Minister of Education— The Honourable Maulana Abul Kalam Azad.
  4. Minister of Finance— The Honourable Dr. John Matthai.
  5. Minister of Defence— The Honourable Sardar Baldev Singh.
  6. Minister of Labour— The Honourable Shri Jagjivan Bam.
  7. Minister of Communications— The Honourable Shri Rafi Ahmad Kidwai.
  8. Minister of Health— The Honourable Rajkumari Amrit Kaur.
  9. Minister of Law— The Honourable Dr. B. R. Ambedkar.
  10. Minister of Industry and Supply— The Honourable Dr. Syama Prasad
  11. Minister of Works, Mines and Power—The Honourable Shri N. V. Gadgil.
  12. Minister of Commerce— The Honourable Shri K. C. Neogy.
  13. Minister of Transport and Railways— The Honourable Shri N. Gopalaswami
  14. Minister of Food and Agriculture— The Honourable Shri Jairamdas Doulatram.

Ministers not in the Cabinet

  1. Minister of State for Rehabilitation—The Honourable Shri Mohan Lai Saksena.
  2. Minister of State for Transport and Railways—The Honourable Shri Santhanam.
  3. Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting— The Honourable Shri R. Diwakar.
  4. Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs—The Honourable Shri Satya Narayan Sinha.
  5. Deputy Minister of Communications— Shri Khurshed Lai.
  6. Deputy Minister of External Affairs—Dr. B. V. Keskar.