Hebrew (עברית) Language

In 586 BCE Hebrew was started to be replaced by Aramaic – ארמית

Eliezer Ben Yehuda (1858-1922) first started to revive Hebrew

 א ב ג ד ה


[ז ח ט י [כ ך

ל מ ם נ ן ס ע פ ף צ ץ

ק ר ש ת

Alphabet without no vowel [ Ayin or Aleph sometimes used as vowel]

aleph – the 1st letter אלף (alph)
beth – the 2nd letter
gimel – the 3rd letter
daleth – the 4th letter
he – the 5th letter
waw – the 6th letter
zayin – the 7th letter
heth – the 8th letter
teth – the 9th letter
yodh – the 10th letter
kaph – the 11th letter
lamedh – the 12th letter
mem – the 13th letter
nun – the 14th letter
samekh – the 15th letter
ayin – the 16th letter
pe – the 17th letter
sadhe – the 18th letter
qoph – the 19th letter
resh – the 20th letter
sin – the 21st letter
shin – the 22nd letter
taw – the 23rd letter

Kaf, Mem, Nun, Pei, and Tzadi are called double letters once in beginning of the word and another at the end of the word. 

All letters are consonants, though the yud and vav are also used as vowels. Small points (nekudot) above or below letters tell readers what vowels to use. These are mainly used in the Tanach and in the siddur (prayer book).

 aba-אבא -father

ba-yit-בית -house

ben-בן -Son

Dag-דג -fish

memsala-ממשלה -government

Torah (Tav-Vav-Reish-Hei)

Alef – silent
Bet – B
Vet – V
Gimmel – G
Dalet – D
Hey – H
Vav – V
Zayin – Z
Chet – Ch (as in ch as Scottish word loch, not as in chair)
Tet – T
Yud – Y
Kaf – K
Chaf – Ch (same as for chet, above)
Lamed – L
Mem – M
Nun – N
Samech – S
Ayin – silent
Peh – P
Feh – F
Tzade- Ts
Koof – K
Resh – R
Shin – sh
Sin – S
Taf – T


Each letter of the Hebrew alphabet is ascribed a particular number. Before the adoption of Arabic numerals, Hebrew numbers consisted of letters.

Vowel added

בְּרֵאשִׁיתB‘rëshiyt[ בְּ רֵ א שִׁ י ת] Bet-Resh-Alef-Shin-Yod-Tav








Categories: Hebrew, Language

Tagged as: