Designated categories of offences-FATF

Designated categories of offences


Designated categories of offences means:

 participation in an organised criminal group and racketeering;
 terrorism, including terrorist financing;

 trafficking in human beings and migrant smuggling;
 sexual exploitation, including sexual exploitation of children;

 illicit trafficking in narcotic drugs and psychotropic substances;
 illicit arms trafficking;

 illicit trafficking in stolen and other goods;
 corruption and bribery;

 fraud;
 counterfeiting currency;

 counterfeiting and piracy of products;
 environmental crime;

 murder, grievous bodily injury;
 kidnapping, illegal restraint and hostage-taking;

 robbery or theft;
 smuggling; (including in relation to customs and excise duties and taxes);

 tax crimes (related to direct taxes and indirect taxes);
 extortion;

 forgery;
 piracy; and
 insider trading and market manipulation.

When deciding on the range of offences to be covered as predicate offences under each of the categories listed above, each country may decide, in accordance with its domestic law, how it will define those offences and the nature of any particular elements of those offences that make them serious offences.

FATF Defination

Categories: Criminal

Tagged as: