President Bush’s Cabinet

President Bush’s Cabinet [20 January 2001 – 20 January 2009]

The tradition of the Cabinet dates back to the beginnings of the Presidency itself. One of the principal purposes of the Cabinet (drawn from Article II, Section 2 of the Constitution) is to advise the President on any subject he may require relating to the duties of their respective offices.

The Cabinet includes the Vice President and the heads of 15 executive departments-the Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, Homeland Security, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, Labor, State, Transportation, Treasury, and Veterans Affairs, and the Attorney General. Under President George W. Bush, Cabinet-level rank also has been accorded to the Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency; Director, Office of Management and Budget; the Director, National Drug Control Policy; and the U.S. Trade Representative.


Department of Agriculture
Secretary Ed Schafer

Department of the Interior
Secretary Dirk Kempthorne

Department of Commerce
Secretary Carlos Gutierrez

Department of Justice
Attorney General Michael Mukasey

Department of Defense
Secretary Robert M. Gates

Department of Labor
Secretary Elaine Chao

Department of Education
Secretary Margaret Spellings

Department of State
Secretary Condoleezza Rice

Department of Energy
Secretary Samuel W. Bodman

Department of Transportation
Secretary Mary E. Peters

Department of Health &
Human Services
Secretary Michael O. Leavitt

Department of the Treasury
Secretary Henry M. Paulson, Jr.

Department of
Homeland Security
Secretary Michael Chertoff

Department of
Veterans Affairs
Secretary Dr. James Peake

Department of Housing &
Urban Development
Secretary Steve Preston

Cabinet Rank Members

The Vice President
Richard B. Cheney

White House
Chief of Staff
Joshua B. Bolten

Office of Management
and Budget
Jim Nussle

United States
Trade Representative
Ambassador Susan Schwab

Environmental Protection Agency
Stephen Johnson

Office of National
Drug Control Policy
John Walters

Source: White House

%d bloggers like this: