Banned terrorist organisations under Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act 1967

If the Central Government is of opinion that any association is, or has become, an unlawful association, it may, by notification
in the Official Gazette, declare such association to be unlawful.

“terrorist organisation” means an organisation listed in the First Schedule or an organisation operating under the same name as an organisation so listed;

(last updated on 30-12-2019)

  1. Akhil Bharat Nepali Ekta Samaj (ABNES)
  2. Al Badr
  3. All Tripura Tiger Force
  4. Al-Qaida/Al-Qaida in Indian Sub-continent (AQIS) and all its manifestations.
  5. Al-Umar-Mujahideen
  6. Babbar Khalsa International
  7. Communist Party of India (Maoist) all its formations and front organizations.
  8. Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) — People’s War, all its formations and front organizations
  9. Declaring khalistan Liberation Force and all its manifestations as Terrorist Organisation
  10. Deendar Anjuman
  11. Dukhtaran-E-Millat (DEM)
  12. Garo National Liberation Army (GNLA), all its formations and front organizations.
  13. Harkat-Ul-Mujahideen or Harkat-Ul-Ansar or Harkat-Ul-Jehad-E-Islami or Ansar-Ul-Ummah (AUU)
  14. Hizb-Ul-Mujahideen/ Hizb-Ul-Mujahideen Pir Panjal Regiment
  15. Indian Mujahideen, all its formations and front organizations.
  16. International Sikh Youth Federation
  17. Islamic State/Islamic State of Iraq and Levant/Islamic State of Iraq and Syria/Daish/Islamic State in Khorasan Province (ISKP)/ISIS Wilayat Khorasan/Islamic State of Iraq and the Sham-Khorasan (ISIS-K) and all its manifestations.
  18. Jaish-E-Mohammed/Tahrik-E-Furqan
  19. Jamaat-ul-Mujahideen Bangladesh or Jamaat-ul-Mujahideen India or Jamaat-ul-Mujahideen Hindustan and all its manifestations
  20. Jamiat-ul-Mujahideen
  21. Jammu and Kashmir Islamic Front
  22. Kamatapur Liberation Organisation, all its formations and front organizations
  23. Kanglei Yaol Kanba Lup (KYKL)
  24. Kangleipak Communist Party (KCP)
  25. Khalistan Commando Force
  26. Khalistan Zindabad Force
  27. Lashkar-E-Taiba/Pasban-E-Ahle Hadis
  28. Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE)
  29. Manipur People’s Liberation Front (MPLF)
  30. Maoist Communist Centre (MCC), all its formations and Front Organisations
  31. National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB) in Assam
  32. National Liberation Front of Tripura
  33. National Socialist Council of Nagaland (Khaplang) [NSCN(K)], all its formations and front organisations
  34. Organisations listed in the Schedule to the U.N. Prevention and Suppression of Terrorism (Implementation of Security Council Resolutions) Order, 2007 made under section 2 of the United Nations (Security Council) Act, 1947 and amended from time to time.
  35. People’s Liberation Army (PLA)
  36. People’s Revolutionary Party of Kangleipak (PREPAK)
  37. Students Islamic Movement of India
  38. Tamil Nadu Liberation Army (TNLA)
  39. Tamil National Retrieval Troops (TNRT)
  40. Tehreek-ul-Mujahideen (TuM) and all its manifestations
  41. United Liberation Front of Assam (ULFA)
  42. United National Liberation Front (UNLF)

Specific Laws

1. The Explosive Substances Act, 1908 (6 of 1908);
1A. The Atomic Energy Act, 1962 (33 of 1962);
2. The Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, 1967 (37 of 1967);
3. The Anti-Hijacking Act, 2016(30 of 2016);
4. The Suppression of Unlawful Acts against Safety of Civil Aviation Act, 1982 (66 of 1982);
5. The SAARC Convention (Suppression of Terrorism) Act, 1993 (36 of 1993);
6. The Suppression of Unlawful Acts Against Safety of Maritime Navigation and Fixed Platforms on Continental Shelf Act, 2002 (69 of 2002);
7. The Weapons of Mass Destruction and their Delivery Systems (Prohibition of Unlawful Activities) Act, 2005 (21 of 2005);
8. Offences under—
(a) Chapter VI of the Indian Penal Code (45 of 1860) [sections 121 to 130 (both inclusive)];
(b) Sections 370 and 370A of Chapter XVI of the Indian Penal Code (45 of 1860);
(c) Sections 489-A to 489-E (both inclusive) of the Indian Penal Code (45 of 1860);
(d) Sub-section (1AA) of section 25 of Chapter V of the Arms Act, 1959 (54 of 1959);
(e) Section 66F of Chapter XI of the Information Technology Act, 2000 (21 of 2000).

%d bloggers like this: