Cambridge English Scale for Nationals and Foreigners

Under The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR)

Dual citizenship (also known as dual nationality) is allowed in the UK. This means you can be a British citizen and also a citizen of other countries. You might need to prove your knowledge of the English language if you’re 18 or over and applying for citizenship or to settle in the UK (known as ‘indefinite leave to remain’).If you’re already in the UK you may be able to extend your permission to stay, so that you can prove your knowledge of English. You can prove it by having either:

  • an English qualification at B1, B2, C1 or C2 level
  • a degree taught or researched in English

You will not need to prove your knowledge of English if you’re a citizen of:

  1. Antigua and Barbuda
  2. Australia
  3. The Bahamas
  4. Barbados
  5. Belize
  6. Canada
  7. Dominica
  8. Grenada
  9. Guyana
  10. Jamaica
  11. Ireland (for citizenship only)
  12. Malta
  13. New Zealand
  14. St Kitts and Nevis
  15. St Lucia
  16. St Vincent and the Grenadines
  17. Trinidad and Tobago
  18. USA

Regular Format

Pre A1 Starters (YLE Starters)
A1 Movers (YLE Movers)
A2 Flyers (YLE Flyers)
A2 Key for Schools (KET)
B1 Preliminary for Schools (PET)
B2 First for Schools (FCE)
A2 Key (KET)
B1 Preliminary (PET)
B2 First (FCE)
C1 Advanced (CAE)
C2 Proficiency (CPE)
B1 Business Preliminary (BEC Preliminary)
B2 Business Vantage (BEC Vantage)
C1 Business Higher (BEC Higher)

Alternative Format

A2 Key for Schools
A2 Key
B1 Preliminary for Schools
B1 Preliminary
B2 First for Schools
B2 First
C1 Advanced
C2 Proficiency
B1 Business Preliminary
B2 Business Vantage
C1 Business Higher

NOTE: The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages: Learning, Teaching, Assessment (CEFR) is potentially applicable to all the languages taught in Europe and does not, therefore, relate to any specific one. However, authors of textbooks, syllabus designers and language teachers have found its specifications to be insufficiently precise. Reference Level Descriptions (RLDs) language by language have therefore been drawn up to provide reference descriptions based on the CEFR for individual languages. The CEFR is based on all these achievements and has developed a description of the process of mastering an unknown language by type of competence and sub-competence, using descriptors for each competence or sub-competence, on which we shall not go into further detail here. These descriptors were created without reference to any specific language, which guarantees their relevance and across-the-board applicability. The descriptors specify progressive mastery of each skill, which is graded on a six-level scale (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2). [Council of Europe]

%d bloggers like this: