Constitution of Malta

Malta is a democratic republic founded on work and on respect for the fundamental rights and freedoms of the individual. The religion of Malta is the Roman Catholic Apostolic Religion. Religious teaching of the Roman Catholic Apostolic Faith shall be provided in all State schools as part of compulsory education. Parliament of Malta which consists of the President and a House of Representatives.
 Adopted on -21st September, 1964
Article- 124
CHAPTER I-The Republic of Malta
1. The Republic and its Territories.
2. Religion.
3. National Flag.
4. National Anthem.
5. Language.
6. Constitution to be supreme law.
CHAPTER II -Declaration of Principles
7. Right to work.
8. Promotion of culture, etc.
9. Safeguarding of landscape and historical and artistic patrimony.
10. Compulsory and free primary education.
11. Educational interest.
12. Protection of work.
13. Hours of work.
14. Rights of women workers.
15. Minimum age for paid labour.
16. Safeguarding labour of minors.
17. Social assistance and insurance.
18. Encouragement of private economic enterprise.
19. Protection of artisan trades.
20. Encouragement of co-operatives.
20A. Participation of Maltese citizens living abroad.
21. Application of the principles contained in this Chapter.
CHAPTER III -Citizenship
22. Persons who become citizens on appointed day.
23. Persons entitled to b e registered as citizens.
24. Persons naturalized or registered as resident before appointed day.
25. Acquisition of citizenship by birth or descent by persons born on or after appointed day.
26. Marriage to citizen of Malta.
27. Dual citizenship.
28. Commonwealth citizens.
29. Criminal liability of Commonwealth citizens.
30. Powers of Parliament.
31. Interpretation.
CHAPTER IV-Fundamental Rights and Freedoms of the Individual
32. Fundamental rights and freedoms of the individual.
33. Protection of right to life.
34. Protection from arbitr
ary arrest or detention.
35. Protection from forced labour.
36. Protection from inhuman treatment.
37. Protection from deprivation
of property without compensation.
38. Protection for privacy of home or other property.
39. Provisions to secure protection of law.
40. Protection of freedom of conscience and worship.
41. Protection of freedom of expression.
42. Protection of freedom of assembly and association.
43. Prohibition of deportation.
44. Protection of freedom of movement.
45. Protection from discrimination on the grounds of race, etc.
46. Enforcement of protective provisions.
47. Interpretation of Chapter IV.
CHAPTER V-The President
48. Establishment of the office of President.
49. Discharge of President’s functions during vacancy, etc.
50. Oath to be taken by the President.
CHAPTER VI-Parliament
Composition of Parliament
51. Establishment of Parliament.
52. Composition of the House of Representatives.
53. Qualifications for membershi p of House of Representatives.
54. Disqualifications for members hip of House of Representatives.
55. Tenure of office of members.
56. Voting at Elections.
57. Qualification of voters.
58. Disqualification of voters.
59. Speaker and Deputy Speaker.
60. Establishment of Electoral Commission.
61. Electoral divisions.
62. Filling of vacancies.
63. Determination of questions as to membership.
64. Clerk to House of Representatives and his staff.
Powers and Procedure of Parliament
65. Power to make laws.
66. Alteration of this Constitution.
67. Regulation of procedure inHouse of Representatives.
68. Oath to be taken by members of House of Representatives.
69. Presiding in House of Representatives.
70. Quorum in House of Representatives.
71. Voting.
72. Mode of exercising legislative powers.
73. Restriction with regard tocertain financial measures.
74. Language of Laws.
Summoning, Prorogation and Dissolution
75. Sessions of Parliament.
76. Prorogation and dissolution of Parliament.
77. General elections.
The Executive
78. Executive authority of Malta.
79. The Cabinet.
80. Appointment of Ministers.
81. Tenure of office of Ministers.
82. Allocation of portf olios to Ministers.
83. Acting Prime Minister.
84. Temporary Ministers.
85. Exercise of functions of President.
86. Exercise of Prime Minister’s functions.
87. President to be informed concerning matters of government.
88. Parliamentary Secretaries.
89. Oath to be taken by Ministers.
90. Leader of the Opposition.
91. Attorney General.
92. Permanent Secretaries and heads of government departments.
93. Prerogative of mercy.
94. Secretary to the Cabinet.
CHAPTER VIII- The Judiciary
95. Superior Courts.
96. Appointment of judges.
97. Tenure of office of judges.
98. Acting Chief Justice and acting judges.
99. Inferior Courts.
100. Magistrates.
101. Oaths to be taken by judges and magistrates.
101A. Commission for the Administration of Justice.
102. Consolidated Fund.
103. Authorisation of expendi
ture from Consolidated Fund.
104. Authorisation of expendi
ture before appropriation.
105. Contingencies Fund.
106. Public debt.
107. Remuneration in respect of certain offices.
108. Auditor General.
The Public Service
109. Public Service Commission.
110. Appointment, etc. of public officers.
111. Principal representatives of Malta abroad.
112. Appointment on transfer in respect of certain offices.
113. Protection of pension rights.
114. Grant and withholding of pensions, etc.
115. Protection of Public Service Commission from legal proceedings.
116. Actions on validity of laws.
117. Prohibition of certain associations.
118. Broadcasting Authority.
119. Function of the Broadcasting Authority.
120. Employment Commission.
121. Powers and procedure of Commissions.
122. Resignations.
123. Reappointments, etc.
124. Interpretation.
Oaths Of Office
Oath of Allegiance
List of Commonwealth Countries other than Malta