Public key certificate

Cyber Crime,Cyber Security,Cyber Law

A public key certificate, usually just called a certificate

A public key certificate is a digitally signed statement binds the value of a public key to the identity of the person, device, or service holds corresponding private key.

Most certificates in common use are based on the X.509 v3 certificate standard.

One of the main benefits of certificates is that hosts no longer have to maintain a set of passwords for individual subjects who need to be authenticated as a prerequisite to access. Instead, the host merely establishes trust in a certificate issuer.

Typically, certificates contain the following information:

The subject’s public key value.

The subject’s identifier information, such as the name and e-mail address.

The validity period (the length of time that the certificate is considered valid).

Issuer identifier information.

The digital signature of the issuer, which attests to the validity of the binding between the subject’s public key and the subject’s identifier information.

A certificate is valid only for the period of time specified within it; every certificate contains Valid From and Valid To dates, which set the boundaries of the validity period. Once a certificate’s validity period has passed, a new certificate must be requested by the subject of the now-expired certificate.


Internet Security Research Group ISRG is a CA that provides services including, but not limited to, issuing, managing, validating, revoking, and renewing publicly-trusted Certificates. These services are performed in accordance with the requirements of this Certificate Policy (CP) and the ISRG Certification Practice Statement (CPS). These services are provided to the general public with exceptions as deemed appropriate by ISRG management or in accordance with relevant law.

Cyber Regulation Advisory Committee

Cyber Crime,Cyber Security,Cyber Law

Cyber Regulation Advisory Committee [India]

Under section 88 of the Information Technology Act, 2000 (21 of 2000)

[ No. 1(20)/97-IID(NII)/F6]

Joint Secretary
The Manager
Govt. of India Press
New Delhi

[To be published in the Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part II, Section 3, Sub-section (i)]

Government of India
Ministry of Information Technology

New Delhi, the 17th October, 2000


G.S.R 790 (E) In exercise of the powers conferred by section 88 of the Information Technology Act, 2000 (21 of 2000), the Central Government hereby constitute the “Cyber Regulation Advisory Committee”, consisting of the following, namely:-

1. Minister, Information Technology Chairman
2. Secretary, Legislative Department Member
3. Secretary, Ministry of Information Technology Member
4. Secretary, Department of Telecommunications Member
5. Finance Secretary Member
6. Secretary, Ministry of Defence Member
7. Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs Member
8. Secretary, Ministry of Commerce Member
9. Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India Member
10. Shri T K Vishwanathan,
Presently Member Secretary, Law Commission Member
11. President, NASSCOM Member
12. President, Internet Service Providers Association Member
13. Director, Central Bureau of Investigation Member
14. Controller of Certifying Authority Member
15. Information Technology Secretary by rotation from the States Member
16. Director General of Police by rotation from the States Member
17. Director, IIT by rotation from the IITs Member
18. Representative of CII Member
19. Representative of FICCI Member
20. Representative of ASSOCHAM Member
21. Senior Director, Ministry of Information Technology Member Secretary

2. Travelling Allowance/Dearness Allowance, as per the Central Government rules, for the non-official members shall be borne by the Ministry of Information Technology.

3. The Committee may co-opt any person as member based on specific meetings.

[ No. 1(20)/97-IID(NII)/F6]

Joint Secretary