Bank for International Settlements (BIS)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Bank for International Settlements (BIS) serves central banks in their pursuit of
monetary and financial stability, fosters international cooperation in those areas
and acts as a bank for central banks

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Bank for International Settlements is the oldest international financial institution. It serves central banks in their pursuit of monetary and financial stability, fosters international cooperation in those areas and acts as a bank for central banks.  BIS Established in 1930, and owned by 60 central banks hold 95% of world GDP.

In outline, the BIS pursues this mission by:

• facilitating dialogue and collaboration among central banks and other authorities
that are responsible for promoting financial stability;
• conducting research on policy issues confronting central banks and financial
supervisory authorities;
• acting as a prime counterparty for central banks in their financial transactions; and
• serving as an agent or trustee in connection with international financial operations.

The Basel III framework is a central element of the Basel Committee’s response to the global financial crisis developed  by Basel Committee on Banking Supervision in response to the financial crisis of 2007-09.

Sixty central banks and monetary authorities are currently members of the BIS :

  1. Bank of Algeria
  2. Central Bank of Argentina
  3. Reserve Bank of Australia
  4. Central Bank of the Republic of Austria
  5. National Bank of Belgium
  6. Central Bank of Bosnia and Herzegovina
  7. Central Bank of Brazil
  8. Bulgarian National Bank
  9. Bank of Canada
  10. Central Bank of Chile
  11. People’s Bank of China
  12. Central Bank of Colombia
  13. Croatian National Bank
  14. Czech National Bank
  15. Danmarks Nationalbank (Denmark)
  16. Bank of Estonia
  17. European Central Bank
  18. Bank of Finland
  19. Bank of France
  20. Deutsche Bundesbank (Germany)
  21. Bank of Greece
  22. Hong Kong Monetary Authority
  23. Magyar Nemzeti Bank (Hungary)
  24. Central Bank of Iceland
  25. Reserve Bank of India
  26. Bank Indonesia
  27. Central Bank of Ireland
  28. Bank of Israel
  29. Bank of Italy
  30. Bank of Japan
  31. Bank of Korea
  32. Bank of Latvia
  33. Bank of Lithuania
  34. Central Bank of Luxembourg
  35. National Bank of the Republic of North Macedonia
  36. Central Bank of Malaysia
  37. Bank of Mexico
  38. Netherlands Bank
  39. Reserve Bank of New Zealand
  40. Central Bank of Norway
  41. Central Reserve Bank of Peru
  42. Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (Philippines)
  43. National Bank of Poland
  44. Bank of Portugal
  45. National Bank of Romania
  46. Central Bank of the Russian Federation
  47. Saudi Arabian Monetary Authority
  48. National Bank of Serbia
  49. Monetary Authority of Singapore
  50. National Bank of Slovakia
  51. Bank of Slovenia
  52. South African Reserve Bank
  53. Bank of Spain
  54. Sveriges Riksbank (Sweden)
  55. Swiss National Bank
  56. Bank of Thailand
  57. Central Bank of the Republic of Turkey
  58. Central Bank of the United Arab Emirates
  59. Bank of England
  60. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (United States)

The BIS has its head office in Basel, Switzerland, and representative offices in
the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China
(Hong Kong SAR) and in Mexico City.

Next Post

UN Programme of Assistance in Teaching, Study, Dissemination and Wider Appreciation of International Law

Sun Nov 24 , 2019
Recognizing the major contribution of the Programme of Assistance to the teaching and dissemination of international law for the benefit of lawyers i n all countries, legal systems and regions of the world for more than half a century and the importance of ensuring the successful continuation of the Programme for the benefit of present and future generations of lawyers,

You May Like

Recent Updates

%d bloggers like this: