International classification Disease-ICD 10

The first international classification edition, known as the International List of Causes of Death, was adopted by the International Statistical Institute in 1893. ICD is the foundation for the identification of health trends and statistics globally, and the international standard for reporting diseases and health conditions. It is the diagnostic classification standard for all clinical and research purposes. ICD defines the universe of diseases, disorders, injuries and other related health conditions, listed in a comprehensive, hierarchical fashion.

I Certain infectious and parasitic diseases

II Neoplasms

III Diseases of the blood and blood-forming organs and certain disorders involving the immune mechanism

IV Endocrine, nutritional and metabolic diseases

V Mental and behavioural disorders

VI Diseases of the nervous system

VII Diseases of the eye and adnexa

VIII Diseases of the ear and mastoid process

IX Diseases of the circulatory system

X Diseases of the respiratory system

XI Diseases of the digestive system

XII Diseases of the skin and subcutaneous tissue

XIII Diseases of the musculoskeletal system and connective tissue

XIV Diseases of the genitourinary system

XV Pregnancy, childbirth and the puerperium

XVI Certain conditions originating in the perinatal period

XVII Congenital malformations, deformations and chromosomal abnormalities

XVIII Symptoms, signs and abnormal clinical and laboratory findings, not elsewhere classified

XIX Injury, poisoning and certain other consequences of external causes

XX External causes of morbidity and mortality

XXI Factors influencing health status and contact with health services

XXII Codes for special purposes

Source: WHO ICD-10 Version – 2019

Read :

  1. Nosology deals with the concept, definition, classification, and nomenclature of disease
  2. Cause of disease
  3. Your knowledge your health
%d bloggers like this: