United States currently has 14 Free Trade Agreements (FTAs)

American Law Made Easy

A Free trade Agreement (FTA) is an agreement between two or more countries where the countries agree on certain obligations that affect trade in goods and services, and protections for investors and intellectual property rights, among other topics. For the United States, the main goal of trade agreements is to reduce barriers to U.S. exports, protect U.S. interests competing abroad, and enhance the rule of law in the FTA partner country or countries.

International Trade Administration

United States currently has 14 Free Trade Agreements (FTAs)

Currently, the United States has 14 FTAs with 20 countries. FTAs can help your company to enter and compete more easily in the global marketplace through zero or reduced tariffs and other provisions. While the specifics of each FTA vary, they generally provide for the reduction of trade barriers and the creation of a more predictable and transparent trading and investment environment. This makes it easier and cheaper for U.S. companies to export their products and services to trading partner markets.

  1. Australia
  2. Bahrain
  3. Canada (included in the North American FTA [NAFTA])
  4. Chile
  5. Colombia
  6. Costa Rica (included in the Dominican Republic – Central America FTA [CAFTA-DR])
  7. Dominican Republic (included in CAFTA-DR)
  8. El Salvador (included in CAFTA-DR)
  9. Guatemala (included in CAFTA-DR)
  10. Honduras (included in CAFTA-DR)
  11. Israel
  12. Jordan
  13. Korea
  14. Mexico (included in NAFTA)
  15. Morocco
  16. Nicaragua (included in CAFTA-DR)
  17. Oman
  18. Panama
  19. Peru
  20. Singapore

%d bloggers like this: